I'd Rather be Quilting…

my crazy pasttime

why do you do that?

on September 23, 2013

A young man recently asked me why I quilt. What is the purpose? People did that in old times, we can buy things now, he said. Beside, don’t people want new things? I asked him why he rides his skateboard. He said it was fun. I asked him why he plays video games and he replied it was fun.

I told him that making a quilt is fun for me, new patterns bring new challenges like getting perfect seam matches. New fabric adds wonderful opportunities for showing personality, both mine and someone else if this is a gift. I asked him if he likes to doodle, and he said yes. I told him that I draw and doodle when I design a quilt and when I do the quilting on it.

I told him the most important reason I make quilts for people is because I am passing my love along to them. Every stitch has love, hope, prayers, comfort in it. Yes, I could go to the store and buy them a blanket and this would save me money, but it would not be from my heart to theirs. And yes, there are many people who do not share my love quilts and a gift of a quilt means nothing to them.

A quilt is a gift that will live long past me. The young man then replied that maybe someone will make him a quilt some day. Maybe.

2 responses to “why do you do that?

  1. Kristin says:

    Great! Love in Every Stitch — sounds like a great book title.

  2. Kristin says:

    Great story! Love in Every Stitch sounds like a great book title!

Leave a Reply

